• Planetary Times Newsletter
  • Opinion Corner
  • Message Board
  • Space Calendar
  • Featured Classes
  • Testimonials
  • Press Kit
  • Classroom Publicity Kit
  • Release Forms
  • Archived Online Chats
  • Contests
  • Space Fun
  • Trivia Corner
  • Orbital Laboratory® Payload III
  • Marslink®
  • Moonlink®
  • Space Explorers
  • Bushroe

    Chat Information:
    Live Online Chat with Michael Bushroe,
    Cassini-Huygens mission engineer

    Date: Thursday, March 10, 2005

    Time:
    noon - 1:00 PM Alaska Time
    1:00 - 2:00 PM Pacific Time
    2:00 - 3:00 PM Mountain Time
    3:00 - 4:00 PM Central Time
    4:00 - 5:00 PM Eastern Time

    Michael Bushroe's Biography:
    Michael Bushroe currently works as part of the team overseeing the Descent Imaging/Spectral Radiometer (DISR) instrument aboard the European Space Agency's Huygens Probe. Huygens was dropped into Saturn's largest moon, Titan, on Jan. 14, 2005, where it collected better pictures of Titan's surface than mankind had ever seen. The DISR team hopes to use these images and data to better understand Titan, which has been compared to the pre-life environment here on Earth. Visit http://www.lpl.arizona.edu/~kholso/ to learn more about the DISR team's work.

    Bushroe received a Bachelor's degree in mathematics and physics and a Master's degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Arizona, and is working toward a second Master's degree in Computer Science. Beginning in 1980, he also worked full time for Hughes Aircraft in a Master's Fellowship work-study program. At Hughes, Bushroe worked to design and improve automated test systems and wrote software to help project work loads and manage subcontractor accounts. He also designed some state-of-the-art electronic systems and wrote high-speed software in assembly language to simulate the optical tracking signals of the TOW missile system in real time, a feat that had never before been accomplished.

    Following his work at Hughes, Bushroe worked for two years for the Army information Services Command as a sub-contractor, writing the Army's Local Area Network Design Guide. In 1994 he returned to the University of Arizona, this time to work for Dr. Martin Tomasko on the DISR project.

    Outside of work and school, Bushroe has a number of other interests and hobbies. He has five cats and fondly remembers his beloved Old English Mastiff puppy. He has been a member of the Society for Creative Anachronism (a medieval recreation group) for more than 20 years. Other interests include photography, flying, home theater systems, and various building and disassembly projects.

     
    Site MapPrivacy Policy