• Planetary Times Newsletter
  • Opinion Corner
  • Message Board
  • Space Calendar
  • Featured Classes
  • Testimonials
  • Press Kit
  • Classroom Publicity Kit
  • Release Forms
  • Archived Online Chats
  • Contests
  • Space Fun
  • Trivia Corner
  • Orbital Laboratory® Payload III
  • Marslink®
  • Moonlink®
  • Space Explorers
  • Foale

    Chat Information:
    Live online chat about spaceflight with astronaut C. Michael Foale

    Date: Tuesday, December 6, 2005

    Time:
    8:10 - 8:50 AM Alaska Time
    9:10 - 9:50 AM Pacific Time
    10:10 - 10:50 AM Mountain Time
    11:10 - 11:50 AM Central Time
    12:10 - 12:50 PM Eastern Time

    About Dr. C. Michael Foale:
    Dr. C. Michael Foale is the U.S. record holder for most cumulative time in space having logged 374 days, 11 hours and 19 minutes in space. He accomplished this milestone after his last flight, serving as Expedition-8 Commander during a stay on the International Space Station from October 18, 2003 to April 29, 2004. His six-month tour of duty aboard the ISS included one 3 hour, 55 minute space walk.

    Foale is a veteran of five other space missions and three other space walks: STS-45 (March 24 to April 2, 1992), the first of the ATLAS series of missions to study the atmosphere and solar interactions; STS-56 (April 9-17, 1993) , which carried ATLAS-2 and the SPARTAN retrievable satellite that made observations of the solar corona; STS-63 (February 2-11, 1995), the first rendezvous with the Russian Space Station Mir, which included a 4 hour, 39 minute space walk; a four-and-a-half month stay aboard the Russian Space Station Mir, during which he conducted science experiments, helped reestablish Mir after it experienced a collision and depressurization, and performed a space walk; and STS-103 (December 19-27, 1999), which repaired and upgraded systems on the Hubble Space Telescope (HST). During an 8 hour and 10 minute space walk, Foale helped replace the telescope's main computer and Fine Guidance Sensor.

    Foale was selected as an astronaut candidate by NASA in June 1987. He received a B.A. in Physics, Natural Sciences Tripos, with first class honors from the University of Cambridge - Queens' College. He completed his doctorate in Laboratory Astrophysics at Cambridge University in 1982.

     
    Site MapPrivacy Policy