• Planetary Times Newsletter
  • Opinion Corner
  • Message Board
  • Space Calendar
  • Featured Classes
  • Testimonials
  • Press Kit
  • Classroom Publicity Kit
  • Release Forms
  • Archived Online Chats
  • Contests
  • Space Fun
  • Trivia Corner
  • Orbital Laboratory® Payload III
  • Marslink®
  • Moonlink®
  • Space Explorers
  • Gibson

    Chat Information:
    Live online chat with Dr. Edward Gibson,
    Former NASA Astronaut

    New Date: Monday, April 25, 2005

    New Time:
    10:00 - 11:00 AM Alaska Time
    11:00 AM - noon Pacific Time
    noon - 1:00 PM Mountain Time
    1:00 - 2:00 PM Central Time
    2:00 - 3:00 PM Eastern Time

    Dr. Gibson's Biography:
    For 21 years, Dr. Gibson was a co-holder of the American record for time in space of 84 days, set when he was the Science-Pilot on Skylab III in 1974. On that mission, he worked outside the space station for more than 15 hours during three different spacewalks.

    During his 14-year career with NASA, he also served on the support crew of the Apollo 12 mission and as the ground communicator with the flight crew while they explored the Moon. He earned Air Force wings and has logged more than 2200 hours of high performance time and 100 hours of helicopter time.

    Dr. Gibson earned his undergraduate degree in Engineering from the University of Rochester and an MS and Ph.D. in Engineering and Physics from the California Institute of Technology. After one year in industry, he was selected as one of the first six Scientist-Astronauts out of 2000 applicants.

    After his NASA career, Dr. Gibson held marketing and program management positions with Booz, Allen and Hamilton and TRW in the areas of space and energy development. He was the President of the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry and his own consulting company, Gibson International. Currently he is Corporate Vice President, Science Applications Internationl Corporation, and Manager of its EROS Data Center Operation in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

    He has performed a significant amount of speaking and writing, having published a text book in solar physics, two novels through Doubleday and Bantam (Reach and In the Wrong Hands), and edited The Greatest Adventure, a compilation of stories and pictures on space missions from many astronauts and cosmonauts around the world.

    Dr. Gibson received a number of honorary doctorate degrees and national and international awards and honors, including the Robert J. Collier Trophy, the NASA Distinguished Service Medal from the President, and induction into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame.

     
    Site MapPrivacy Policy