• Planetary Times Newsletter
  • Opinion Corner
  • Message Board
  • Space Calendar
  • Featured Classes
  • Testimonials
  • Press Kit
  • Classroom Publicity Kit
  • Release Forms
  • Archived Online Chats
  • Contests
  • Space Fun
  • Trivia Corner
  • Orbital Laboratory® Payload III
  • Marslink®
  • Moonlink®
  • Space Explorers
  • Gilmore Who: Dr. Martha Gilmore - assistant professor of Earth and Environmental Studies at Wesleyan University

    What: Live Online Chat about Martian Geology and Rovers

    Date: Thursday, April 8, 2004

    Time:
    10:00 - 11:00 AM Alaska Time
    11:00 AM - 12:00 Noon Pacific Time
    Noon - 1:00 PM Mountain Time
    1:00 - 2:00 PM Central Time
    2:00 - 3:00 PM Eastern Time

    Biography:
    Prior to becoming an assistant professor of Earth and Environmental Studies at Wesleyan University, Dr. Gilmore was a postdoctoral researcher in the Earth and Planetary Science Division at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Her primary research involves the use of images of the surfaces of Mars and Venus to interpret geologic processes and history.

    Dr. Gilmore is also involved in the future of planetary exploration, including strategies for the return of samples from Venus and Mars, the exploration of Venus with balloons, and the use of artificial intelligence to improve the geological capabilities of Mars rovers. She previously served as member of the Mars Surveyor 2001 lander team and contributed to the site selection of the Mars Exploration Rovers. In addition, she is currently secretary of Planetary Sciences Section of the American Geophysical Union and member of the Space Studies Board Committee on Planetary and Lunar Exploration.

     
    Site MapPrivacy Policy