• Planetary Times Newsletter
  • Opinion Corner
  • Message Board
  • Space Calendar
  • Featured Classes
  • Testimonials
  • Press Kit
  • Classroom Publicity Kit
  • Release Forms
  • Archived Online Chats
  • Contests
  • Space Fun
  • Trivia Corner
  • Orbital Laboratory® Payload III
  • Marslink®
  • Moonlink®
  • Space Explorers
  • What: Live Online Chat with Scott Hubbard, director of NASA Ames Research Center

    Date: Tuesday, Feb. 1, 2005

    Time:
    10:00 - 11:15 AM Alaska Time
    11:00 AM - 12:15 PM Pacific Time
    Noon - 1:15 PM Mountain Time
    1:00 - 2:15 PM Central Time
    2:00 - 3:15 PM Eastern Time

    STS-107

     
    Columbia Background:
    The 28th and final flight of Columbia (STS-107) was a 16-day mission dedicated to research in physical, life, and space sciences. The seven astronauts aboard Columbia worked 24 hours a day, in two alternating shifts, successfully conducting approximately 80 separate experiments. On February 1, 2003, the Columbia and its crew were tragically lost over the southern United States during the spacecraft's re-entry into Earth's atmosphere. Learn more about Columbia, STS-107, and its crew members at http://www.nasa.gov/columbia/home/index.html.

    HubbardScott Hubbard's Biography:
    In 2003, Scott Hubbard served full time as the sole NASA representative on the Columbia Accident Investigation Board (CAIB). He directed impact testing analysis that established the definitive physical cause of the loss of the Columbia.

    Hubbard is currently the director of NASA Ames Research Center in the heart of California's Silicon Valley, with management responsibility for a workforce of approximately 4,000 people and an annual operating budget of $775 million. Hubbard is known for his innovative approach to collaborations between government, academia and the private sector, particularly as embodied by the award winning NASA Research Park development.

    Prior to his appointment as Center Director in 2003, Hubbard was deputy director for research at NASA Ames. In March 2000, Hubbard was called to NASA Headquarters where he served as the first Mars program director and successfully restructured the entire Mars program in the wake of mission failures. Other key positions held include Ames associate director for astrobiology and space research; the first director of NASA's Astrobiology Institute; and NASA's mission manager for Lunar Prospector. Hubbard is also credited with conceiving the Mars Pathfinder mission. Prior to joining Ames in 1987, he was vice president and general manager of Canberra Semiconductor and a staff scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

    Hubbard holds a BA in physics and astronomy from Vanderbilt University and conducted graduate studies in semiconductor physics at U.C. Berkeley. He has been awarded five NASA medals: three for 'Outstanding Leadership' and two for 'Exceptional Achievement.' He has been awarded 'Laurels' by Aviation Week three times. For his contributions to the Columbia accident investigation, Hubbard received NASA's highest honor, the Distinguished Service Medal. He is an elected member of the International Academy of Astronautics; a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics; recipient of the Von Kármán medal in Astronautics; and the author of more than 40 scientific papers on research and technology.

     
    Site MapPrivacy Policy