• Planetary Times Newsletter
  • Opinion Corner
  • Message Board
  • Space Calendar
  • Featured Classes
  • Testimonials
  • Press Kit
  • Classroom Publicity Kit
  • Release Forms
  • Archived Online Chats
  • Contests
  • Space Fun
  • Trivia Corner
  • Orbital Laboratory® Payload III
  • Marslink®
  • Moonlink®
  • Space Explorers
  • Low

    Chat Information:
    Live online chat with David Low, retired NASA Astronaut and Vice President and Commercial Orbital Transportation Services Program Manager with Orbital Sciences Corporation.

    Date: Tuesday, September 26, 2006

    Time:
    9:00 - 10:00 AM Alaska Time
    10:00 AM - 11:00 AM Pacific Time
    11:00 AM - Noon Mountain Time
    Noon - 1:00 PM Central Time
    1:00 - 2:00 PM Eastern Time

    Chat Host David Low's Biography:
    Mr. Low has been with Orbital Sciences Corporation since 1996, and is currently the Senior Vice President and Commercial Orbital Transportation Services Program Manager. He served in several other capacities while at Orbital Sciences Corporation, including general manager of the technical services division, deputy general manager of the advanced programs group, X-34 program manager, deputy general manager for technology and operations of ORBCOMM Global, and as vice president for safety and mission assurance in Orbital’s launch systems group.

    Prior to joining Orbital Sciences Corporation, Mr. Low was a NASA Astronaut from 1984 until 1996. He flew on three Space Shuttle missions as a mission specialist, flight engineer, and payload commander. During his more than 700 hours in space, Mr. Low has helped to deploy two communications satellites and retrieve two scientific satellites using the Shuttle’s robotic arm. He has also conducted a six-hour spacewalk, and participated in numerous scientific and medical experiments. Additionally, he served as the Manager of the Extravehicular Activity Integration and Operations Office from 1994 until 1995. From 1980 until 1984, Mr. Low worked at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory as a spacecraft systems engineer.

    Mr. Low holds a B.S. in Physics-Engineering from Washington and Lee University, a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Cornell University, a M.S. in Aeronautics and Astronautics from Stanford University, a MBA from Johns Hopkins University, and he has completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School. He is a recipient of the NASA Outstanding Leadership Medal, the NASA Exceptional Service Medal, three NASA Space Flight Medals, and an honorary Doctor of Engineering Degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. He is also an Associate Fellow of the AIAA.

    Mr. Low now resides in Potomac Falls, Virginia with his wife, JoAnn, and their three children.

     
    Site MapPrivacy Policy